Share workflows that you've created and launched using Workflow Builder with other users within your organization.
With workflow sharing, you can:
- Share live workflows with users and groups in your organization.
- Set up custom run schedules or event-based triggers.
- Track preview executions and automated runs.
- Duplicate shared workflows to customize their steps.
Depending on your app's feature control configurations, you might need an administrator to review and approve your request before you can share a workflow.
If you share a workflow, the people you shared the workflow with will see and use the live version.
Share a workflow
To share a workflow, do the following:
App
Open your Gemini Enterprise app and go to the Agent Gallery page.
The Agent Gallery page appears displaying all the prebuilt agents and custom-built agents.
In the Your agents section, find the workflow you want to share.
In the upper right header of the Workflow Builder canvas, click
Share.Enter the email addresses of the users or Google Groups that you want to share the workflow with.
Click Done.
Administrator review control
By default, workflow owners can share their workflows with any user within their organization without approval from an app administrator. However, app administrators can change the app feature control configurations to require administrator review and approval for sharing workflows in the app.
By default, workflow owners can't share their workflows with groups. However, the Gemini Enterprise app administrator can choose to make workflows shareable with Google Groups— with or without administrator approval.
The sharing process
Only the initial sharing of a workflow requires administrator review and approval. Subsequent workflow revisions don't need re-approval.
Workflow sharing follows a two-step process when administrator review is enabled:
The workflow owner shares the workflow with one or more users or Google Groups.
The app administrator reviews the sharing request and approves or denies it.
Review a share request
App administrators are responsible for reviewing and managing workflow sharing requests.
Console
To review a share request as an app administrator, do the following:
In the Google Cloud console, go to the Gemini Enterprise > Apps page.
Click the name of the app containing the workflow.
In the app navigation menu, click Agents.
Find the workflow with a Review share request action in the User permissions column.

Click Review share request.
In the Share request pane:
- Review the access list under Requested to share with the following users.
- Optional: Modify the access list to add or remove user accounts, Google Groups, or WIF identity pools.
To approve the request and grant access, click Approve and enable.
To reject the request, click Deny.
Use a shared workflow
When a workflow owner shares a workflow with you, you can access and preview its graph configuration. While the workflow graph is read-only for shared users, you can run a preview manually, configure your own trigger settings, view your own run history, or make a copy of the workflow.
App
- Open your Gemini Enterprise web app in a browser.
- In the web app navigation menu, click
Agents. - Go to the Shared with me > From your org section.
Click the shared workflow you want to view. The workflow launches in a read-only designer layout, displaying the live node graph. Note: If the shared workflow is suspended or turned off, the Workflow Builder canvas doesn't render and you can't run it, but you can still view its previous runs.
Optional: To perform a manual test run of the workflow:
- Click Preview in the upper right header of the Workflow Builder canvas.
- Run the preview. If the preview run fails because a connector used by the workflow is not authorized, click Enable Connectors below the error message to complete the OAuth flow.
Set up your own triggers
Triggers on a shared workflow are user-specific. You can configure a custom run schedule or event filters to run a shared workflow automatically.
To set up your own triggers, do the following:
App
- Open your Gemini Enterprise web app in a browser.
- In the web app navigation menu, click
Agents > Gallery. - Go to the Shared with me > From your org section and click the shared workflow you want to set up a trigger for.
Access the trigger configuration:
- Select the Actions menu > Set up triggers.
- Alternatively, open the workflow in the Workflow Builder editor canvas, click the workflow name, and select Set up triggers.
You can configure a trigger using either of the following modes:
- Schedule: Select Run on a schedule and configure when the workflow runs for you (such as the frequency and time zone).
- Event: Select Run on app events and configure the event
filters to specify when the workflow runs for you.
For example, for a Google Drive event trigger, you can filter by
fields such as Owners (such as a Google ID like
janedoe), Name, MIME type, Modified time, or Parent folder. You select an operator (such as contains or equals), enter a value, and combine multiple rules using AND or OR conditions.
If the workflow uses connectors that require authentication (for example, connectors used in a workflow step rather than the trigger itself), enable and authorize the connectors in the Workflow Builder canvas editor when prompted.
Click Save. The trigger is saved and it runs the workflow automatically. You can manually trigger the workflow to preview what will happen when the schedule or event trigger runs this workflow. If you want your workflow to stop running, select Don't run on app events or Don't run on a schedule from the Set up triggers dialog.
View your runs
To view your runs, do the following:
App
- In the web app navigation menu, click
Agents. - Go to the Shared with me > From your org section and click the shared workflow.
- In the Workflow Builder canvas, click the Runs tab.
- Click a specific run to view its execution logs and step-by-step trace.
For more information, see workflow runs.
Make a copy of a shared workflow
Shared workflows are read-only for shared users, except for their trigger configurations. If you want to edit and customize a shared workflow's steps, you can create a copy in your own workspace.
To create an editable duplicate of the shared workflow, do the following:
App
- Open your Gemini Enterprise web app in a browser.
- In the web app navigation menu, click
Agents > Gallery. - Go to the Shared with me > From your org section and click the shared workflow you want to copy.
- In the Workflow Builder editor canvas, click the workflow title, and select Make a copy. The copy is added to your Your agents list.
Shared workflow dependencies
If your workflow imports and references other workflows (sub-workflows) in its workflow steps, keep the following in mind:
- Access requirements: When you share a parent workflow, or when you import a workflow into your workflow, ensure that all users in your access list also have access to all imported sub-workflows.
- Run failures: If a user runs a workflow without access to an imported sub-workflow, the run fails with a message asking them to request access from the owner.
Sharing limits
When sharing a workflow agent, the following limits apply:
Maximum 1,500 individual accounts: Gemini Enterprise manages agent access using underlying Google Cloud IAM allow policies, which enforce a hard cap of 1,500 members per policy. Sharing an agent with more than 1,500 individual user accounts causes the operation to fail with the following error:
The number of members in the policy (1,501) is larger than the maximum allowed size 1,500.Use groups to share at scale: Each Google Groups or Workspace group counts as a single member toward the 1,500-member policy limit. If you need to share an agent with hundreds or thousands of colleagues across an organization, ask your app administrator to enable group sharing and enter group email addresses (for example,
support-team@example.com) instead of individual user accounts.
For a full list of system constraints, see Workflow Builder quotas and limits.
Considerations
If the workflow owner turns on a new version or updates the live version of the workflow, all shared users automatically run the new live version on subsequent executions.
If a workflow is turned off or suspended, the Workflow Builder canvas doesn't render and shared users cannot run the workflow, but they can still view their past run histories and session logs in the Runs gallery. If the workflow is unshared, disabled, or deleted, shared users lose all access, including to their past run histories and session logs.
Actions that modify external data require human-in-the-loop (HITL) approval, except for emails or calendar events you send to yourself.
What's next
- Learn how to create a workflow.
- Learn how to edit a workflow.
- Learn how to manage workflow versions.
- Learn how to monitor workflow runs.
- View Workflow Builder quotas and limits.